Random musings of a wandering soul

‘The’ Questions

Every moment that he is not doing anything, son keeps making new words in his head

“Amma, is ‘v-i-c-e ‘a word? What does it mean?” and so on it goes.

On the way from football practice today, “Amma, is’ r-a-p-e’ a word?”

Amma almost hits the vehicle in front and tries very hard not to change her expression. She is dreading the next question

“What does that mean?”

The quick thinker that she is, amma comes up with, “this is normally used with reference to girls. When a boy loves her and she doesn’t love back, but the boy tries to kiss her forcibly and do things”

No, he did not ask what those ‘things’ were, butΒ I know it is just a short respite

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………

Another day, “Amma, what does ‘gay’ mean?”

Amma does a double take in her mind, can’t change the expression outside at all.

“Oh, you know normally boys and girls fall in love with each other. But sometimes, some boys fall in love with other boys. Normally people don’t like it, but they can’t help it mostly. By the way, where did you learn this word?”

“Didn’t we watch ‘Dostana’ last week?”

Amma hits her head against a wall, again in her mind

I know this is just the beginning. What is coming is going to be much worse…..

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

Daughter sees a kissing scene on TV ,”Amma, why did you say I should’nt kiss on your lips? See that chettan and chechi, it’s alright amma, come I’ll give you a kiss….”

Amma running away, literally……

Comments on: "‘The’ Questions" (12)

  1. Cn I say ‘Ha ha ha’ bcoz the last one makes me want to do so atleast when am reading it now πŸ˜›
    Cn understand hw diff. it must hv been for u at the very moment though πŸ˜‰

  2. ahahhahahahahhahahaha your daughters bit was abs hilarious!

  3. oooooooooooooooops πŸ™‚ I am always wary of this , what is a kid asks me this sort of question how am i supposed to reply ..

    awwwwwwwwwwwwww you ran away literally i guess this is the difference when i was growing up my dad would probably have SHUT me up πŸ™‚ at least now parents do TALK
    goood goood .. I am wondering whats going ot be the next question

    KEEP US POSTED he he ehehehe

  4. I know difficult is to answer these questions….

    My 7 year old asked me why those uncles are running behind that aunty (rape scene in a movie),if i change the channel she will be curious to know what is happening so i told her aunty is having money and gold with her and they are thieves who want that gold and money from her.

    I dont know what to will reply when my girls ask me about rape and gays……

    • Just say the truth – very mildly according to the age, kids these days know too much for their own good and they just might come back with the answers πŸ™‚

  5. Bindu I know exactly how you feel. But look at the bright side. Your mental agility will improve as you have to do a lot of cerebral calisthenics to answer the questions diplomatically πŸ™‚ I wish you all the very best.

  6. Interesting questions and barely surviving with the answers .. very soon you will start getting rebuttals for the answers. That’s when the real fun begins!

    As for your daughter kissing you on your lips!! Why not? Ha ha!

Leave a Reply

