Random musings of a wandering soul

Can you believe this is the voice of a 71 year old?

Forget about singing like this when they are 70 plus, can today’s 20-30 somethings sing like this even today?

This is what you call truly gifted, a golden voice that has conquered generations, the pride of Kerala – Dr.K.J. Yesudas. This song is from the 2010 movie ‘Shikkar’

Comments on: "Old is much more than Gold!" (17)

  1. Oh I just luvv his voice.
    Met a 92-yr old woman sday – has her entire teeth set intact and no glasses even. Says the secret of her health is yoga πŸ™‚ Amazed!

  2. I could not follow the lyrics of this song….. The tune tells me that it is a romantic song… am I right? And the singer’s voice is beautiful… doesn’t sound like a 71 years old’s voice πŸ™‚

  3. wow the voice is indeed so beautiful I could not understand the song … but the voice as you say CUM ON BEAT THIS …

    • Isn’t it amazing how music has no language? Even after years , Lambada still remains one of my most favorites even though I have no clue what the lyrics mean

  4. I just love Yesudas’s voice….so vibrant and young, even today. πŸ™‚

  5. The man is in a Class of one. Unmatched. I was listening to a few of his songs the other day while driving back from Dubai- there were songs by M G Sreekumar and some of the newer singers too.

    What struck me was the clarity of words (each word pronounced with such crispness) and the flow (there wasn’t any jump or straying – the tune just held its course).

    KJY has magic in his voice!

  6. Lovely….he is in a class of his own. I recently watched his son perform at a stage show here….I thought he was good too with lots of confidence for one so young. But then I guess being KJY’s son itself is a big confidence booster :-D.

  7. I never knew that Jesudas was 71 years old! I thought he was 50! Certain singers like Jesudas just cannot be matched. They sing the melodious numbers so well! Is there any fast paced song that Jesudas has sung in Malayalam?

  8. KJY has a great voice that is evergreen. That is the combination of talent, discipline and dedication. The only other person who has done better is Latha Mangeshker. And it is a beautiful song. And he is equally good with fast numbers as well. The song Padakali from the movie Yodha is an example. Nice tribute to one of the greatest singers of all time.

  9. A great fan of Yesudas. Heard my mom say that the fan following he had back in his hay days were unparallelled… something like Rajesh Khanna’s in Bollywood!!

Leave a Reply

