Random musings of a wandering soul

Scene – 1

The evil lady downstairs gets a new car. Daughter gets new bangles.
Goes down tp play, slyly rubs the bangles against the brand new car. Security guy notices, tells her no. She does it again, ever so slightly.
You would need a microscope to notice the scratches, but a new car is a new car whether it belongs to an evil lady or an angel. Evil lady complains to son. Son spills the beans to father when he comes home for lunch. Father leaves with a promise of retribution when he gets back in the evening.
Daughter tries to act smart with the help. Help says,”Let your father come in the evening”
“Yes, let him come. I know I will get a beating. If not today, tomorrow”.
Parents change track, no loud words, no threats, no whack on her bottom. Just no going down to play, no TV, no games on computer.
Two days go by, daughter to father,”Next time, please don’t punish me, a beating will do”
Father tries hard not to laugh.
A week later, punishment lifted.

Scene – 2

Mother comes home from work. Daughter rushes down to meet her with a fatalistic look on her face.
“Amma, I am punished again”
“What did you do today?”
“I sat in the middle of the road and cried”
“What???”
“My toffee fell down.I took it and put it back into my mouth. Chechi made me spit it out, so I sat there and cried at the top of my lungs”
“Serves you right”
Punishment continues over the next week.

Scene 3

Mother and daughter in super market.
“Amma, can I have a pack of juice?”
“Of course”
“Can I have a pack of cream biscuits?”
“Go take it”
“Can I have an ice candy?”
“No, you hvae cold”
“I want an ice candy”
“NO”
“I waaaaannnnt iiiiccccee caaaannnndyyyy”, rolls on the floor. Mother looks the other way as if she has nothing to do with the little thing on the floor.
Picks her up finally, dumps her into the car and drives off, giving a sheepish grin at the very interested onlookers as if to say, “Kids!!!!”
Punsihment continues…..

Scene 4

Mother, son and daughter in church. Mother seats them on both sides. In two minutes flat, daughter wriggles her way in between mother and son.
A well dressed, prim amd proper lady on the seat in front. In between the squirms, the lady gets a kick on her perfectly shaped bottom.
Lady turns around and gives a dirty look at the daughter.
Mother tries to stare down the daughter, daughter stares in the other direction.
In the process, the lady gets another kick. The cycle of lady looking at daughter, mother at daughter and daughter everywhere but at mother continues.
Next daughter gets hold of mother’s duppatta and twirls it around.
The tip of the duppatta hits the lady’s face, now she turns around and looks at the mother. Mother looks elsewhere.
Mother gets fed up, walks out in a huff and a puff , drags everyone into an auto.
Sound of three loud slaps, and then a shrill, loud wail
“I do not want another sound in this auto”
Silence till the coffee shop.

Scene 5

Daughter has already forgotten the church and the slap.
Starts talking animatedly, but meets a silent wall.
“Amma, why are you not talking to me?”
“Amma is not going to talk to you because of what you did in the church”
“Sorry, amma”
Silence
“Ammaaa, I said sorry”
Still silence
Daughter is quiet for a moment. Then..
“Amma, can I ask you one thing?”
Amma tries to look busy burying her nose into a book
“Amma please amma, can you tell me one thing?”
Amma still refuses to look up.
“Please amma, just one thing”
Amma lifts up one eye.
That’s more than enough.
“But you love me, don’t you?”

“How do you solve a problem like Maria?
How do you catch a cloud and pin it down?
How do you keep a wave upon the sand?
How do you hold a moonbeam in your hand?”

Comments on: "How do you hold a moonbeam in your hands?" (18)

  1. JayadevM said:

    Mommy meets her match! πŸ™‚

  2. mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm I sure amma loves her precious girl but then the little girl needs to be taught some lessons somehow .. and slapping might not be the best way ..

    I am not sure how though

  3. Nice, hilarious, and sadly very true. Another good post. I love Sound of Music.

  4. sheena john said:

    ha ha lovely post, Bindu…., happens sometimes with me too , esp when I’m back home to see mother of all messes…..Lord, give me more patience, dats all…and ask them to help me from the mess…..forgiveness and TLC back, just in minutes with their innocent looks and talks. As years pass by, one day they become us, hope with more patience and thoughts of us! πŸ™‚
    Still watch, Sound of Music…….just love it .
    Bindu, I like all ur post, liked the soap shell too…very true.! Keep posting.

  5. When we think of the amount of patience our mothers and grandmothers had, I think its a futile hope, Sheena πŸ™‚ But then, we can only hope, right?
    Ha, another one who loves the movie and thanks for the like πŸ™‚

  6. Awww hw cn anybody not luv her!:)
    So what r the new punishments figured out now? πŸ˜›

  7. I wasn’t sure you were writing about your daughter until I read the comments. The scenes made me smile–if it is any consolation, most parents have faced such scenes at some time or the other. I know I have. Maybe some of us created a few scenes like these ourselves once upon a time πŸ˜‰

    How do you solve a problem like Maria? Haha, how indeed!! πŸ˜›

    • Yeah, most of the parents go through these scenes, and they are actually such adorable darlings πŸ™‚
      Solving the Maria problem is a never ending dilemma, though!

  8. How do u catch a cloud & pin it down…….the biggest puzzle really but seriously its a never ending cycle and have to say u really have patience :-).
    My two have started recording me anytime & anywhere & playing it and its really irritating;-/

  9. The situations are different but the feeling is very familiar- that of total helplessness and exasperation. I need truck loads of patience!
    lol @ Nancy’s kids

  10. Loved the video after so many years! Some lessons too. The answer to the questions … How do you hold a moonbeam in your hand?

    In the words of a friend of mine ‘just keep your palms stretched open skywards …and everything that you wish for will happen … ‘!

    Cheers & have a nice day.

  11. That’s good thought and actually true too..things happen the way you want it to be, when you let go…

Leave a Reply

