Random musings of a wandering soul

Let it be

Enid Blyton is not considered politically correct by many today. If I try reading one of those books today, I will have to admit that getting past the first few pages would be really difficult. But I will be eternally grateful to her for opening out the big, wide, happy, relaxing, enlightening world of reading to me. Robert Fulghum said “All I Wanted to Know I learned in Kindergarten” and I would have to say, “Most of what I needed to know, I learnt from Enid Blyton”.
There is one series that made a significant impact at a very young age, It is about the ‘naughtiest girl’ Elizabeth Allen who is sent to a boarding school against her wishes. She makes a pact with herself to hate the school and make it so difficult for others as well that she will be thrown out before the year is over. The story goes predictably through the initial difficult days, how it slowly changes and how she startes developing friendships and is finally made the class monitor. She doesn’t want to leave, but faces a dilemma now. She has promised herself to get out of the school and now to say otherwise would portray her as a weakling. I don’t remember who tells her this, but the conversation is something that I have remembered since then. It goes something like this,

“True courage is accepting that you were wrong and being willing to make changes. Refusing to do so even after knowing you are not right is cowardice”

Isn’t it so true in so many areas of our life? We make decisions which seems right to us at that moment, things change, sometimes not for the better, and you still cling on. Many of us stay on in unhappy jobs, refusing to admit that this is not where you should be, or that you have had enough and it is time to move on. You put up with people and situations long after they have pulled you deep down, fearing that upsetting the apple cart is going to turn your life upside down. Sometimes we try so hard and long to turn things around, refusing to acknowledge that nothing that you do is going to change the way things are and not everything is because of you or in your control.
There comes a point when you need to realize that you have done all you could and it is better to leave things as they are.

Let it be….and maybe let go…

Comments on: "Let it be" (17)

  1. Second time trying to post the comment 😦

    Loved the song..

    Also I wrote that , that’s how it is , what is right now may not be right later. Things change. Situation changes..

    Let it be…….

  2. WordPress is crazy at times 😦
    This is one song that always lifts my mood up

  3. I remember tht sentence too and I remember reading it again and again then to understand it. The post hits hard [the apple cart bit is sooo me]because I’m guilty of it all and have no clue how to go about making a change. Then again sometimes I think I’m asking for too much.

  4. Its quite amazing that enid blyton that I loved so much earlier is really difficult for me to read at times now… I always feel he goes too slow and has too many of vague moments… I dont find that with Mark Twain in Tom Swayer who has been my life’s second hero after Phantom πŸ˜€

    quote :
    Many of us stay on in unhappy jobs, refusing to admit that this is not where you should be, or that you have had enough and it is time to move on
    Unquote :

    you cannot imagine how difficult it was to accept that I was not loving this job working for my cousin and leave the family business and actually go solo !!!! sigh…. !

    but now what a relief it has been πŸ˜€

    • “but now what a relief it has been” – don’t we know from your FB posts πŸ˜€

      btw, Enid Blyton is a ‘she’ and I love Tom Sawyer and his side kick Mr. Finn too πŸ™‚

  5. Nice post. I used to read Enid Blyton. I have read the Famous Five, Five Find-Outer and Dog, and Secret Seven. I have not read the Naughtiest Girl series and have not encountered Elizabeth Allen.

    What you have said is very true “let it be; let is go…” I will add “live your life…” to that. Watch the live your life at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=koVHN6eO4Xg.

  6. β€œTrue courage is accepting that you were wrong and being willing to make changes. Refusing to do so even after knowing you are not right is cowardice”

    Seems so simple but we’ve all been through times when we keep wishing that the decision we’ve taken is the right one ignoring the in-your-face signs that contradict the very same.

    Used to love Enid Blyton’s Famous Five series.

  7. β€œTrue courage is accepting that you were wrong and being willing to make changes. Refusing to do so even after knowing you are not right is cowardice”- That is so true! I have grown up reading Enid Blyton and still dote on her Malory Towers and St Clares series πŸ™‚

    Enjoyed reading your post πŸ™‚

  8. Nice theme and the Beatles song – ‘Let It Be’ my favorite too πŸ™‚
    To me it means to be in a state of ‘Let Go’ saves us from worry and strife. Here’s a nice quote

    β€œWhen I let go of what I am, I become what I might be.” ~ Lao Tzu

    Cheers!

Leave a Reply

