Random musings of a wandering soul

The Wedding

Now I am sure. This Nicholas Sparks is actually a woman inside a man’s body. How else do you explain it? He knows the exact path to a woman’s heart, no directions needed on the way.

If it is your intellect that is reading, you will find this a yet another mushy story, where the husband is the normal man, who forgets birthdays and anniversaries in the daily grind, busy saving for a rainy day missing all the sunshine in between and where the wife tends the hearth, her dreams and passions almost lost in bringing up the children and being the ideal support to the man of the house. But if you are a person who reads with her heart, I can guarantee, you will not be able to put the book down.

Wilson and Jane has been married for almost thirty years. He has been busy setting up his law practice and she with bringing up their three children. Wilson commits the unpardonable sin of forgetting their twenty ninth anniversary. With that, a bigger realization also dawns on him, that his wife is slowly but steadily moving away from him. He is already aware that emotionally they have been at a distance for years. Now he is scared that it might actually turn into a physical distance as well.

Jane’s standards of romance and married life are her parents, the eternal couple of Noah and Allie (from The Note Book by the same author). Wilson always knew that he could never match up to her father. He even tries to get some pointers from his father-in-law. Noah is a very perceptive man and he knows Wilson’s love for Jane is very deep, it is just that he finds it very difficult to express it through his words and actions. They hatch a plot to give Jane the surprise of her life on their thirtieth anniversary. Wilson plans the surprise with the help of his friends and family over a year and just one week before the big day, their daughter Anna drops a bombshell that she wants to get married to her boy friend on the very same day.

Jane is totally flustered, but determined to see to it that her daughter gets the kind of wedding day that she had always wanted for herself, but could not. Wilson steps in as the man for all the odd jobs, the genie that gets everything right for the couple that too at the right time.The story goes about how he gets to transform Noah’s old rambling house to a lovely setting for the wedding, treats Jane to an unforgettable anniversary two days prior to the actual date and then the ultimate surprise on their daughter’s wedding day.

There is also the continuing story of Noah whio is now in a retirement home, with a swan for a company, but that is something you have to read and find for yourself.

What really caught me was the determination of a man to be willing to change himself, his beliefs and reservations for someone whom he loves more than himself. The essence of the book is brought out in Wilson’s own words at the end of the book,

“Yes, I decided a man can truly change.
The events of the past year have taught me much about myself, and a few universal truths. I learned, for instance, that while wounds can be inflicted easily upon those we love, it’s often much more difficult to heal them. …….But most of all, I learned that it’s possible for two people to fall in love all over again, even when there’s been a lifetime of disappointment between them.”

This one is for the hopeless, die hard romantic in you!

Comments on: "The Wedding" (14)

  1. Lovely review. I’m keen on enjoying it 🙂
    Thanks.

  2. Thanks Dilip!
    If you are a romantic soul, this one is definitely for you 🙂

  3. Nice review Bindu. Now I must read the book. The only NS book that I have read is The Notebook. I liked it. So I tried P.S. I love you. I didn’t like it at all. Continue reviewing…

    • This is the second NS book of mine. First one was Message in a Bottle, didn’t like it much. Saw the movie version of P.S. …loved it. Maybe Gerard Butler also had something to do with it 🙂

  4. Know what, Bindu, I have this book, and its been lying with me unfinished for quite sometime. Somehow it just didnt click for me. Maybe I should try reading it from my heart, as you said, then I might enjoy it :).
    Have taken the book out of my shelf to keep in my luggage..will be off on my vacation soon…hoping to have a breezy read through the flight 🙂

    • I think a lot has to do with the state of mind that you are in when you are reading a book, Deeps. A different time, even I might have had a different view 🙂
      Happy vacation!

  5. Not for me then, I have long got over the romanticism …i guess I kearnt my lesson the hard way 🙂

    A good review though.. But to me it seems too good to be true … The story 🙂

    • I am a die hard romantic, Bikram. You are right, the story actually seems too good to be true. But then truth sometimes is stranger than fiction!

  6. U r not going to believe this…..U’ve got one book & I’ve got the other :-o.I finally joined a library yesterday & one of the books I picked up was NS ‘The Notebook’. I haven’t read any of the author’s books till today but heard good reviews.

  7. wowow..was totally hooked to the story line..will definitely get hold of this book when I get a chance.

  8. I loved your review Bindu, moreso because I am an all time Sparks admirer. Love all his books.

Leave a Reply

