Random musings of a wandering soul

I found a treasure chest!

Has this ever happened to you? There you are,taking a stroll down a new lane casually, when something colorful catches your eyes all of a sudden. You go exploring, wanting to know more, step inside an inviting doorway and voila! You are inside a treasure house with rows and rows of interesting and quirky stuff and you just do not feel like coming out.

Something similar happened to me. There I was, aimlessly wandering around the virtual world (something that I seldom do) and suddenly this poem catches my eye:

β€œI cannot go to school today”
Said little Peggy Ann McKay.
“I have the measles and the mumps,
A gash, a rash and purple bumps.

My mouth is wet, my throat is dry.
I’m going blind in my right eye.
My tonsils are as big as rocks,
I’ve counted sixteen chicken pox.

And there’s one more – that’s seventeen,
And don’t you think my face looks green?
My leg is cut, my eyes are blue,
It might be the instamatic flu.

I cough and sneeze and gasp and choke,
I’m sure that my left leg is broke.
My hip hurts when I move my chin,
My belly button’s caving in.

My back is wrenched, my ankle’s sprained,
My ‘pendix pains each time it rains.
My toes are cold, my toes are numb,

I have a sliver in my thumb.

My neck is stiff, my voice is weak,
I hardly whisper when I speak.
My tongue is filling up my mouth,

I think my hair is falling out.

My elbow’s bent, my spine ain’t straight,
My temperature is one-o-eight.
My brain is shrunk, I cannot hear,

There’s a hole inside my ear.

I have a hangnail, and my heart is …
What? What’s that? What’s that you say?
You say today is ………….. Saturday?

G’bye, I’m going out to play!”

I get curious. Who is this guy? And lo and behold a treasure chest opens…..Shel Sileverstein.

Read out a couple of poems to my daughter and made my son read a few. The mirth in their eyes was proof enough πŸ™‚

Do take a look (if you are an ignoramus like me), young in age and at heart, you will not be disappointed, I assure you…

Meanwhile, here is another one..

β€œI asked the Zebra,
are you black with white stripes?
Or white with black stripes?
And the zebra asked me,
Are you good with bad habits?
Or are you bad with good habits?
Are you noisy with quiet times?
Or are you quiet with noisy times?
Are you happy with some sad days?
Or are you sad with some happy days?
Are you neat with some sloppy ways?
Or are you sloppy with some neat ways?
And on and on and on and on and on and on he went.
I’ll never ask a zebra about stripes…again.”

Enjoy!

Comments on: "I found a treasure chest!" (22)

  1. Yup πŸ™‚ Happens!

    And I luv the zebra one πŸ™‚

  2. Really nice. Oh man, he is really good. Both the poem are great and the rest on his page. Thanks for sharing. Do aimlessly wander some more and share the treasures πŸ™‚ After all you are the wanderlust @ home!

  3. oh yes .. give a little time to the child within you .. always πŸ™‚ thanks for sharing

  4. Treasure chest indeed, for the word craving one πŸ™‚ Yeah, I too loved the zebra one…remembered the first two lines from “Madagascar” !!!

  5. Cute!

    Loved the first one. But check the website now

  6. Loved the poems, seems interesting, thanks for sharing:)

  7. Wonderful!! Thanks for sharing!!

  8. the first one would almost be my thoughts ! πŸ™‚ So wonderfully painted… ! I had an upset stomach or a nausea everytime there was an Indian Cricket match ! πŸ˜›

  9. what is this good reads… I keep getting mails from it that someone shred and added you to their networks… I havent gone there yet… but I must I guess

  10. I throughly enjoyed, Bindu.

  11. Haha…they are really good, I’m gonna read them out to the kids πŸ˜€

  12. Had such feelings on Sunday (not Monday) mornings to avoid going to church. Shel Silverstein became one of my favourites after listening to his ‘Sarah Cynthia Sylvia Stout’ (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tvNhhEtUGJY ) – something I make every batch of my students listen to, in poetry classes. Thanks for sharing, Bindu.

Leave a Reply

