Random musings of a wandering soul

It’s the Animal Instinct

Daughter and I have a morning ritual. If she wakes up as soon as I call her, she gets a half an hour reading session before school. Added bonus is she gets to select the books. Instinctively, the little feet goes towards the book shelf and the chubby fingers pull out one from the ‘A Child’s First Library of Learning’ set. The whole set cost me a bomb more than five years ago, but I don’t regret even a paisa of it. Son grew up devouring it, now followed by his sister.

Let me not digress. Books give you some great insights on life most of the times. Sometimes it is so hilariously true. This one reminded me of what my mother used to say when we talked about life, marriage, men and the works.

Here goes today’s lesson…


This is what I liked the best šŸ˜€

Mummy used to say, “You know what, men generaly get amnesia the moment they get married. They forget everything that they knew, sometimes including simple things like making their own bed or even picking up their clothes from the floor”

šŸ˜€

Have a great weekend!!

Comments on: "It’s the Animal Instinct" (27)

  1. Smart Male Lion …. I wish we human males could do that too!

  2. how true!!! just wondering if they hunted even when younger…probably the mother lion did it for them???!!! šŸ˜‰

  3. šŸ™‚ Well she does have a point I guess ..

  4. Hehehe…I loved the illustrations which show the lioness and the cubs watching respectfully while the lion has his fill, and the lion yawning while the lioness and the cubs have a go at the leftovers šŸ˜€
    We blame similar behaviour amongst humans on social conditioning, wonder what social conditioning these lions and lionesses are subject to, LOL!

  5. Guess the illustrations were done by a socially conditioned male human being šŸ˜‰

  6. OMG !!! Such simple truths in our lives being told in animal form !!! šŸ™‚

    Loved your mom’s version too – even now, men can do things when they go on business trips alone, but the moment they enter home, the wet towels learn to fall on beds / floors !!!

  7. That was hilarious and ridiculously true too……:)

  8. You know the only condition I and my wife had at marriage was that I wanted her to promise to make the bed ! I was tired of my mom making me make my own bed ! that was the only dahej I got ! šŸ˜›

  9. I shall never share this information with my husband lest he should get one more reason to be lazy and negligent at home šŸ™‚

  10. Hehehe gud one šŸ˜› šŸ˜›

  11. Nice post. Very glad to know that the kids love reading. The ETL books are good even though they are expensive. The motto of Children’s Reading Foundation is ’20 minutes daily reading by mother and child.’ When I read about that, I thought about you and your kids. Wishing happier reading times….

    • Yes, ETL is expensive, thought a lot and finally decided to go ahead, paid it through a 24 month instalment plan, but every paisa was worth it. Got a learn your numbers kit free with it. The whole set has been used and reused šŸ™‚
      As for reading with kids, I feel guilty that don’t get enough time with Naomi as I did with Georgie. Is now making Georgie read to her šŸ™‚

  12. Hahaha, I loved what your mom said šŸ˜€

    And I like that collection of books you bought for Naomi, I am tempted to buy a set for Namnam too :).

    • My mom had an amazing sense of humor, sigh!!
      Bought the collection for my son who seem to have outgrown it too soon, anyway the investment seem to have been worth it, his interest in things other than stories started with those books, Naomi seem to be following suit, touchwood!

      • So worth the buy is it?

      • Totally! Got a set of books and CDs on numbers free along with it, those were also really good. Bought these 6 years ago, cost around 30K, and I paid in instalments for about 2 years šŸ˜€
        Buying books for such a big amount seemed a little too much, but I went ahead with what my heart said, and glad today that I did šŸ™‚

  13. You don’t say! Where is the nearest female lion? Lead me to her. I am going to give her a piece of my mind šŸ˜‰ šŸ˜›

Leave a Reply

