Random musings of a wandering soul

Sleepless Nights

BlogFEST 2012 – Day 2

“If you sleep like this, what will you do when you have kids?”, my mother used to chide me every other day. And I would faithfully reply, “I will sleep with them” πŸ™‚

Sleep – something that has seldom given me any issues. More often that not, it was a lack of time that troubled me more. Imagine this, you go to office when normal people start home from office, get back stealthily like a thief when the rest of the family has reached stage two or even three of their slumber, and wake up with them! Yes, I said it right. That is how it was for almost seven years. There were days when I hit the bed at five in the morning only to wake up an hour later to send the son off to school. Yes, I do go back to sleep after everyone has left for about 2-3 hours. Finally bid adeu to that mad rush when my body started protesting in all ways that it knew.

Was scared when the babies were due. Used to warn them while they were safely cocooned inside, “you come out and show your attitude at nights, and I’ll show you mine”. I don’t need any research to prove that babies actually know what is happening outside when they are in the womb, both of them were peaceful angels and has seldom given me any trouble. Husband sayys it was more of a matter of survival for them.

Next were the fights – must have kept awake after our first major one. Then the logical part of the brain took over. Ok, we are going to be tied to each other for life. Knowing the fire brands that we are, some amount of pyrotechnics is bound to happen. Why lose sleep over it?

Yes, there were a couple of nights when one of the kids were ill, but then did I have any other choice when your son clings to you and asks you to sing to him? Come on, he must be the only soul in this whole universe who has willingly asked me to sing, shouldn’t I give him some respect?

Before you write me off as a sleepyhead, there is one thing that I can and have spent countless insomniac nights on – books πŸ™‚ I have stayed up before exams, major presentations in office, long travels, after travels and what not, just to finish a book that engrossed me. And I sure do hope they remain the sole reasons for my sleepless nights in future too πŸ™‚

Meet today’s host here

Comments on: "Sleepless Nights" (20)

  1. Hey, fights reminds me of one more I need to add to my list. Yes, how could I have forgotten? Perhaps, because I no longer think it’s worth staying awake about. πŸ™‚

  2. Amen! Let them books remain the sole reasons πŸ™‚
    And u are so rt? Why spend sleepless nights over fights eh? πŸ˜‰

  3. Damn when I fight, I eat….lol! But books and kids……………….yes!

  4. Nice one. I too have lost a lot of sleep for books.

  5. In addition to all reasons u mentioned, I remember odd days whn butterflies in stomach could keep me awake!

  6. Jo Heroux said:

    Nicely done. Sleep matters! I am a sleeper, as well and writing and reading can most assuredly keep me up all night, but in such a good way!

  7. Oh talking to babies while they are inside of you– YES they do understand πŸ™‚ And books–they are one of the few culprits that keep me wide awake too. Wonderful post πŸ™‚ Cheers!

  8. πŸ™‚ Sleepyhead πŸ™‚ … I know .. sometimes I choose to be insomnia because I wanted to watch that drama …

  9. Books can keep me up all night. My daughter used to get frequent, very high fevers. 103 to 105 was very common. They were for no good reason, yet I couldn’t let myself relax and sleep while she wasn’t feeling well. Here is the link to the blog I’m doing BlogFEST with. I’m not sure how to get it to change from my WordPress one: http://really3.blogspot.com

  10. So the sleepy head is a book worm…but I know that you are book worm already πŸ˜›

  11. Now I know what I did wrong! I should have warned mine too, not to show attitude! Sigh, the nights he kept me awake! I used to day dream of sleeping uninterrupted one whole night. Did not happen till the elder son was two years and three months old.

Leave a Reply

