Random musings of a wandering soul

Living a Dream

BlogFEST 2012 – Day 6

My good friend Corinne, who is living her dream asks whether I am living mine. That is a tough one, my friend. You are forcing me to go a long way back and brush away the cob webs that have camouflaged my dreams. Like you, words have always been a part of my dreams, though unlike you, its been weaving its way in and out. After a long game of hide and seek, they have most definitely come back home,this time to stay. Status – check.

One corner is clear and clutter free. Now, for the next. Travel. From the time I can remember, the itch to travel has been as strong as pining for a long lost love. Have done some and then. Long way to go on this one. And the one destination that has been haunting me for years – Valley of Flowers. The broom has reached just a small part of the corner on this one. Status – Not Checked

Over to the next corner. This may sound a little trite. For someone who was born into an orthodox Syrian Christian agricultural family from Central Kerala, where women seldom went out of their homes to work, standing on my own feet, doing what I wanted to do and building a life with someone of her choice, is nothing short of a minor battle. To be my own person, to live my life my way and to be happy and content at that, can I even call it a dream? It has been life itself for me. Status – checked long back.

The last corner is a potpourri. Dreams, wishes, longings, wants, needs, all get checked and un checked again and again. This is where I go to when the others seem to let me down. This is where I draw my energy from to go back and demand more of the other corners. This corner is my sanctuary and solace. Status – Open

picture courtesy – google images

Comments on: "Living a Dream" (24)

  1. Well almost there then.. just one thing left.. all the best for that..

  2. Tht seems a well writeen “Living a Dream”… Well written cause its simple-daily things(which is infact what life is abt) rather than some stars-in-the-eyes kinda dreams

  3. Nice post and I loved the dreams and the status of each of them. Some dreams are not to be fulfilled as you come near it it would move forward and I would say that is what keeps you alive. What I really liked is your Miscellaneous dream corner. I too have one like that. One thing I have learned is that when your life changes the dreams also change and if you don’t learn to accept that and change your dreams accordingly, then life can be very depressing.

    • You are absolutely right Alexis. Some dreams change with time and disappear while certain others remain over the years, Valley of flowers is one such for me. Next year….

  4. I just loved the way you’ve done this post, Bindu πŸ™‚ Hugs

    Its time to do check-list with my dreams now… πŸ˜‰

  5. Some dreams just take longer than others–don’t lose your sight of that dream. Who knows maybe traveling for you is right around the corner πŸ™‚

    Cheers, Jenn.

  6. Prasanth Nair said:

    Valley of flowers + Leh is one place to visit for sure…! Please visit to http://devilonwheels.com for a itinerary and planning a road trip to Delhi – Srinagar – Leh – Manali- Delhi .. Its an awesome blog , one blog which I have found really helpful… I am sure Manoj sir will also be very much interested..! I booked all my tickets and planned everything for this , but couldnt go : ( Had to leave India before the trip because my Canadian Visa got stamped in between… ! Next time in India I will visit Leh for sure…! All the very best !

    Cheers
    Prasanth

  7. So so so beautifully listed, Bindu! Loved this one! Hugsssss! πŸ™‚

  8. You’re a poet – loved, loved the way you handled this prompt. I’m not sure what connection we have, but it just got stronger when I read this. Let’s drink a toast to your visiting the Valley of Flowers in the near future! β™₯

  9. Visiting the Valley of Flowers is also one of my dreams – wishing us both this dream (and others) come true.
    Here’s mine http://suzysomedaysomewhere.blogspot.co.nz/2012/10/blogfest-living-my-dream.html

  10. This post totally illustrates ur growth as a blogger, person…..
    Loved it……here’s wishing that u ‘check’ your travel dream tooo and sooon[as humanly possible] πŸ™‚

  11. Cheers! That was well written! We always tend to look far ahead but these simple things make live life like a dream!
    Happy Trippin’ soon! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

