Random musings of a wandering soul

Shadows Of The Mind

BlogFEST – Day 12

Leigh Young, an Optimist has prompted us to think about shadows and bring out the ideas, fears and thoughts that are lurking behind them…

Are those ghosts,
Or mere shadows?
Some come from above,
Some from below
And some from memories of long ago.

They make me cry,
Tear my soul apart,
Some drain my heart,
Some leave me bereft
And some bare me naked to the core.

Are they for real,
Does it really matter?
Some are shadows,
Some are ghosts
And some, mere shadows of the ghosts.

Picture courtesy – http://www.bigfoto.com/

Comments on: "Shadows Of The Mind" (12)

  1. but aint those ghost and shadows our own making .. if we are strong then I am sure we can get rid of them

    or have i taken the poem entirely the wrong way 🙂

    • Its open to interpretation 🙂
      I was just talking about shadows and ghosts in general, yes, in spite of what they can do to you, you have the power to slay them

  2. I think our minds are more than capable of scaring us…

  3. Are you trying to scare me, Bindu?? I’m scared of ghosts, you know and you want me to see not just ghosts, but shadows of ghosts..brrrr! 😛 😛

    Jokes apart beautifully expressed in words like always 🙂

  4. Nice poem. “And some, mere shadows of ghosts.” Brilliant

  5. Something uncanny about it when taken literally. Liked it. Ghosts have shadows, really? 😀

Leave a Reply

