Random musings of a wandering soul

rain
“Some people feel the rain. Others just get wet.” Bob Marley must have said this after a visit to Kerala in the monsoons, I’m sure.

Distance make hearts grow fonder not just between people but places as well.

As you grow old and away from where you were born and brought up, particularly when you have more than a lot of happy memories associated with it….. a drop of rain on your forehead as you lift your face up to that cool breeze is all that it takes, to lift you back in an instant…

to the echoing laughter of your childhood,
to the mangoes that dropped on your head,
to the puddles that your young feet splashed in,
to the branches that you swayed from,
to the oars that your hands held,
to the river that you jumped into,
to the gale that blew the thatch off,
to the drops that drenched you,
to the smell of rain washed mud,
to the taste of sun dried jack fruits,
to the python that gobbled up the chicks,
to the ducks that glided in the pond,
to the calves that frolicked in the grass,
to the palm that shivered in the wind,
to the kittens that snoozed in the kitchen,
to the stray dog that wandered in,
to the home that you left behind,
to the place….
where rain was born

* title borrowed from ‘Where the Rain is Born, writings about Kerala’ edited by Anita Nair

Image courtesy : Google

Comments on: "‘Where the Rain is Born’*" (26)

  1. How everyone around is just rejoicing the rains…. I am pretty sure this has to be the most favourite season of all living beings… I have already concluded it is the most soulful of all seasons πŸ˜€

    Yes it brings alive so many memories and so much of elation remains in my heart its just hard to describe πŸ˜€

  2. to the taste of sun dried jack fruits,and to the palms that shivered in the rain πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ No place like our homes to watch and enjoy the rain… mmm.. I was wondering why the fascination, that I can drop all work and sleep to let the rain mesmerize me..

  3. Brilliant. Yes, the monsoon brings back a lot of good memories. Watching the rain is so calming and rejuvenating.

  4. Such a lovely post Bindu. I could picturize every thing listed even though we don’t have much rains in chennai

  5. JayadevM said:

    The happy days of childhood, home, walking in the rain, getting wetting without worrying, walking along the paddies – so many images evoked by your poem.

    Now I have to write one.

    Good one, Bindu.

  6. Rain is fun when you’re a child but a nuisance for an adult – sad how growing up changes these little things. But your list brings back the fun for a moment – thank you.

  7. Loved it πŸ™‚

  8. Aaah! Someone after my own heart!
    This definitely comes from someone who has seen lots of monsoons in childhood! πŸ˜€

  9. Beautiful….I dont have the words to express wht I feel.
    I’ll just ask u to imagine wht it must be to live in a desert and experience rain[if we are lucky] once a year. And we get sooo excited when tht happens πŸ™‚

  10. Do you really want me to imagine it? Specially when I am all wrapped inside a blanket in the cool Bangalore weather?

  11. Such a beautiful post, B. Loved it! πŸ™‚

    I have visited Kerala only once in all of my life yet, and it was one lovely trip. I would LOVE to visit during the rains. Craving to do that at least once in life.

    My, you seem to have had quite an eventful life back home. Would love to read more about your Kerala memories, if you are up to it, and see some pics. Pretty please?

    Also, your post inspires me to pen down some of my own memories. Thank you for that. πŸ™‚

    • You should do a trip there in the monsoons, its quite romantic as well πŸ˜‰
      I was lucky to have parents both of whom hailed from Alleppey, the backwater town. Father’s place has a river in front and watching rains and playing in the puddles is something that I still would do, if I get a chance. Sadly the house is locked, with my mother no more there. Homes turn into mere houses, once they lose their soul 😦
      Have sent you some links on some of my nostalgia induced posts

  12. BTW I just bought Anita Nair’s book Where The Rain Is Born. Half way through it. I think it was reviewed by Smitha, and her review got me all excited about the book. Apparently, it was you who suggested the book to her. πŸ™‚

  13. To the boating in the flood water of paddy field….

Leave a Reply

