Random musings of a wandering soul

The Resident Angel

???????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

Daughter is learning to read, connecting letters, looking at pictures, sounding it out, making sentences and its pure joy to watch the look of surprise and pleasure on her face as she gets some big words correct. Like mother, she tries the easy way out, new words are mostly guess work…

They played together

“th…the..thee?”
“they”
“they pla…plaay..ed…played!!!”
“t..t..throwball?”

What was that happened to them?

“wh…whaaa…what”
missed out ‘was’ altogether
“th…th..”
stops and grins
“what happened”
“no, you will scold me”
“I won’t, tell me, what is it?”
“shall I read it?”
“yes”
“what the hell???”

!!!!

But that was not to be..

“b..but….”
“he he he he..”
” butt..butt…”
“he he he”

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

Brother and sister are totally in love one moment and fighting tooth and nail the next.
“Naomi, go bring that book”
“No”
Amma jumps in, “Is this the way you talk to each other?”
“Naoommii….. will you pleaaaa…ssse go and bring that book for me?”
With a cherubic smile on her face,”I am sooo soooorrrry chetta, I will not”

Yeah I know, I told them only to talk properly….

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

Harried amma trying to work amidst the din the next room. Suddenly a loud thud,
“Naomi, you are a pain in the butt!”
Amma almost throws the laptop on the bed and starts running in anger to give it to son….and then stops in her track,
“Chetta, you are a pain in the “moothram ozhikkunna sthalam*”

amma and chettan takes one look at each other and then…..bursts out laughing

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………..
amma has always wanted an eight inch mattress that she can sink into at the end of a tiring day. Well, it is not for nothing some wise woman said, “be careful about what you wish for, you just might get it”. If someone so much as put their hand on one side, the ripples almost throws the person at the other end off the bed. So imagine this..

her tooth almost decayed to the core, the pain spreading all over the face and converting itself into a splitting headache, amma is trying to talk some sense into someone’s head and working on a presentation at 10 in the night on a Friday. A witch angel flies into the room, jumps onto the bed and starts bouncing.

amma puts the phone on mute

“Naomi, can’t you see I am on a call?”
“But I am not talking”
“Don’t bounce like that, my head is aching”
“But what will happen if I bounce?”
“DON’T BOUNCE!”
“at least, can I sleep next to you?”

Sigh!!!

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………..
Another harried day, the same mother and daughter..

“Amma, can you help me with this?”
“Help!! I am going to kelp you”
Without even batting an eyelid, pat comes the reply,
“Ok, then kelp!”

What do I do with this girl, you tell me folks!

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

And then there are those days when amma gets back home late in the night, totally drained out, opens the door and an excited voice says,

“amma, come, come, I want to show you something”
“what now? let me at least sit down for a few minutes”
“please amma, come, I made something for you”
“what?”
“a song,” and hands this over..

letter

amma opens it and with tears in her eyes hugs the little angel close to her heart….

love

* the body part used to pee

Comments on: "The Resident Angel" (25)

  1. your angel made me laugh out loud πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  2. β€œmoothram ozhikkunna sthalam” ?

    and kelp! hahaha.. this is going to haunt you now

  3. Thanks for the much needed laughter πŸ™‚
    And I think this is one of the best love letter. Hugs to the little angel πŸ™‚

  4. Your post made me wonder when my daughter will grow up and do all that. πŸ™‚

  5. ROFL what a post!! err do I have to tell you which one was the best? πŸ˜‰

    Aww that is the sweetest letter. I hope my boys will do that for me too…sigh!

  6. Awww they are darlings πŸ™‚

  7. I burst out laughing at her comments….hahah!
    And the last part turned me into mush πŸ™‚ Sigh!

  8. Wonderful… I was LOL as I was reading this. I think Naomi is like you πŸ™‚ Enjoy

  9. Butt… really!!!! ROFL

  10. Aww, what a lovely note! You know Bindu, I’ve wanted to meet your spirited little angel ever since I read that ‘how-do-you-hold-a-moonbeam-in-your-hand’ post of yours!

  11. LOL. Your kids are super cute! πŸ™‚

    ROFL @ I am so sorry Chetta, I cannot. Naomi, especially, is a laugh riot!

    Naomi is a lovely name, BTW.

    • Oh, how we laughed over that one πŸ™‚

      Naomi means delightful and I should say she is living up to it πŸ™‚

  12. And that letter is super, super, super cute! Touched me. πŸ™‚

  13. JayadevM said:

    She is such a scream!!!

    m .. o…. s… was the ultimate. What little brat!

    But I can see that in spite of the pain pain and weariness and the occasional moments of frustration you wouldn’t give it up for anything. The joy of having such creative beings in the house is inexplicable, priceless too.

    “Then kelp!” is a regular response you can expect from kids … they are experimenting with word sounds and showing early attempts of being combative.

    And I miss the letters and greetings cards Nikhil used to give me.

    Lovely cameos!

Leave a Reply

