Random musings of a wandering soul

What is the Good Word?

words (1)The weekend section of the vernacular newspaper carried an interesting article. It had asked a few people what their favorite word was, in their mother tongue – Malayalam, in this case. There were some cliched and expected ones like ‘amma’, one had mentioned the name of a place because he liked the sound of it, another one had combined two words to make an altogether new one, there was even a word that I never knew existed. There were some hilarious takes as well.

It set me thinking. What would my answer have been, if someone asked me the same question. Would I think of something that I imagine to be the essence of me, or would it be a word that would be what I aspire to be, would it even be something that others might use to describe me? But then, why should it have to be about me at all? It could even be something that I could just relate to, a place, an event, or just a plain word, that just is. The narcissist in me finally won and left me with not one, but two words.

I just love the sound of the first word, not just because it contains part of my name ๐Ÿ™‚ The very word is an attitude by itself, a way of looking at or reacting to things, people, places, happenings…to life in general. A feeling of floating in the air, as free and as light as a bird that takes each day as it comes, not too bothered about the tomorrows. The bird knows the One who brought it into this beautiful world will take care of it, come what may. The feeling is not an intentional carelessness, it is more of being aware of the pitfalls, pains and cruelties of life and then consciously being in a state of carefree happiness. Yes, there are responsibilities galore and of course I will take care of it, but I know where to draw the line and set myself free, living life on my own terms. I get a feeling of weightless bliss when people use this word to describe me ย ๐Ÿ˜€

bindaas

ย 

The second word is what I aspire to be, failing miserably now and ย succeeding surprisinglyย then. More than a state of mind, I would say it is a state of being, a peaceful one. There might be some deep turbulence behind you, the searing pain of loss and hurt within you, and chaos all around you, but there is this Budha like smile on your face as you go through each minute. You are aware in all senses that this too is a passing phase, for every night there comes a day and for every valley there is a summit. It is the calmness of a still lake that holds many a secret in its depth….it is the joyousness of a placidly flowing river, giving life to the shores as it empties itself into the mighty ocean…it is the awe-inspiring silence of the mountains…it is the gently blowing caress of a cool autumn breeze….it is the gentle pitter-patter of a drizzle on the lush grass….

serene

I am human and curious by nature. So tell me,

What is that one word for you? Alright, make it even two ๐Ÿ™‚

And, what is the one word that comes to your mind when you think of me? ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

 

pictures courtesy –ย http://www.freedigitalphotos.net

Comments on: "What is the Good Word?" (17)

  1. Vaayadi Pennu ;) said:

    Bins with you in one word “unperturbed” Tall order that was, because to give you justice, there needs to be more words.. about me, pinash which acc. to the urban dictionary means has a lot of life to it ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. What a lovely post! I admire your ability to write so beautifully about something so abstract.

    I need some time to think about this. Will be back. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thanks TGND!
      Do come back and let me know

      • From the little I know of you, I think ‘bindaas’ suits you perfectly. ‘Serene’ is a good goal to move towards, but then, if you are ‘bindaas’, that is a way of serenity, right? Am I making sense here?

        Some other words that come to mind when I think of you are ‘friendly’, ‘warm’, ‘jovial’ and ‘enthusiastic’.

  3. Errr.. the point of the newspaper article was to think of your favourite words in your mother tongue. You converted it into thinking of words that describe yourself and your readers perfectly. ๐Ÿ˜€

    BTW, your post reminded me of this: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/ella-frances-sanders/11-untranslatable-words-f_b_3817711.html. Some of the words are downright beautiful!

  4. At the risk of sounding extremely cliche, love is the word for me.
    And one word that comes to my mind when I think of you is, “Pleasant”

  5. Finding just one favourite word is difficult. Also, it changes from time to time. It was an interesting piece of reflection. One of my favourite phrases is ‘Dรฉjร  vu’. Now French is not my mother-tongue!

    • Not that English is my mother tongue either ๐Ÿ˜›

      But strangely, the word that came to my mind in my mother tongue was also something similar to ‘Serene’ – ‘Shaantham’ meaning peaceful, calm…

  6. I think you are very kind and that is the one word for you. ๐Ÿ™‚
    My favourite word would be snowfall. Picturing it makes me calm.

  7. Thoughtful….thats the word which comes to my mind when I think of U :-).

    I’ll never admit it openly [and esp to H] but I’ll say it this once…temperamental is the word which comes to mind when I think of me ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Leave a Reply

