Random musings of a wandering soul

She helped me lie ;)

treeEnid Blyton made me lie. At least that’s what I used to think. That was the age when, forget about knowing what it is, I didn’t even know how to spell technology. Even books were not freely available as it is today. We had to wait eagerly for that one day a month, when books would be issued from the school library. Enid Blyton was the only choice available to kids our age.

Growing up with four younger siblings, I was pretty sure that some royal family somewhere had lost their child who appeared mysteriously at my parents’ doorstep. And the sweet souls that they were, adopted me and were bringing me up as their first born. Waiting for my ‘real’ parents to come in search, one particular book fell into my hands. The name is long forgotten, it must have been one of theAdventurous  Four’ series where this young prince gets lost, the kids rescue him, the king flies down in a plane of gold or something of that sort, and lo and behold, my alternate identity was born.

continue reading here

Parentous  is a meeting place for all who are interested in sharing their thoughts, experiences and opinions on anything and everything related to kids, parents and family. Whether you are a parent or not doesn’t matter. Articles on varied topics are posted every day, contributed by selected writers. You can find my posts there twice a month :)

Comments on: "She helped me lie ;)" (13)

  1. Excellent post. When you write about books and reading, writing, cooking and eating your writing glows. May be you should write your first novel about some plot that involved a lot of reading, writing, cooking and eating. Seriously think about it.

    I read all the book you have mentioned only after I joined the engineering college. Our school library didn’t have those books. So even though I have read all the famous five, Nancy Drew, Secret Seven, Naughtiest girl. Mills & boons, Nick Carter, and the like, I couldn’t experience the thrill of reading then when I was young ;-(

    But I read all the Malayalam classics by MT, M. Mukundan, O.V. Vijayan, Basheer, Thakazhi, and the like while I was in school.

    Have you read the Ink heart series–Inkheart, Inkspell, Inkdeath–by Cornelia Funke and Artemis Fowl series by Eoin COlfer. They are nice. I am sure the kids will enjoy them. I liked them.

    I wish you happy reading and writing for 2014.

    • Thanks Alexis 🙂 The glow would be because I love all those things to bits . The first novel will have lots of food for sure, especially naadan ones.
      As for the childhood books, apart from the one book a month from the school library, I used to devour all the classics that were the college text books of my aunts and uncles. One of the favorite pastimes was hunting through the metal trunks full of old text books in the attic (machinte mukalil 🙂 )
      Haven’t read any of the two series that you mentioned, should try I guess

  2. An impressive post on the moulding years. I am quite inclined to absorb what St.Igantius said.

    And while all of us have had a busy little mind –I was sure I was Tintin in my previous life– you have had one industrious mind, amply reflected in your posts. 🙂

  3. Lovely post, Bindu. I was lucky to have to older brothers and parents who ensured that every cash gift they and later I got was converted into books – so I grew up on Enid Blyton – from Noddy to the Famous Findouters! And the school girl variety like Mallory Towers etc came from the school library! What treasures, truly! I think that’s how I learned to never be bored. 🙂

    • Corinne, we didn’t even have a decent bookshop in the town we grew up in. The only good English library closed down when I was about 12 or so. A friend of mine used to share the books that her father sent from abroad 🙂

  4. That was just so beautiful Bindu! You have an amazing way with words!

    “may the stories that you read spawn dreams that fly with you through life, may you break some rules and some hearts too, may you have some adventures and a few misadventures as well, may a sense of wonder pervade your whole being and most of all, may your book find you!” Amaen to that beautiful wish! 🙂

  5. Loveeeeely post Bindu 🙂

  6. Thats such a refreshing post!! Reminded me of my own Enid Blyton Days and how I too used to weave my own dreams around those tales and bask in an inexplicable joy 🙂 🙂

Leave a Reply

